Best Battery For Key Fob: Compare 10 Coin-Cell Options

Best Battery For Key Fob

A strong key fob battery choice matches the exact coin-cell size printed on your old battery or specified in your vehicle manual, and suits whether you need a general-purpose cell or a vehicle-specific replacement. This roundup compares 10 options, including CR2032 cells from Duracell, Energizer and Amazon Basics, plus replacements listed for particular Chevrolet, GMC and Nissan models. It also includes CR2016 and CR2450 batteries, which are not interchangeable with CR2032 cells just because they are all 3V lithium batteries.

Pack sizes range from one to 10, and listed capacities vary where provided. Check your fob’s required size before ordering; then use vehicle fit, safety features and quantity to narrow the choice.

Duracell CR2032 is the Best Overall choice for shoppers whose fob requires a CR2032 cell. It is listed for key fobs and several other devices, has a 3V output and a 1,500mAh listed capacity, and comes in a four-count pack. Its bitter coating on both sides is an additional child-safety feature.

If your fob takes a different size, do not substitute this battery: compare the required code with the CR2016 and CR2450 options instead.

Our Top Picks

Duracell CR2032Best Overall

Duracell CR2032

A four-count CR2032 pack is explicitly listed for key fobs, with 3V output, 1,500mAh listed capacity and a bitter coating on both sides.

View on Amazon
Energizer 2032Child Safety Features

Energizer 2032

This four-pack supplies 3V CR2032 cells with a listed 240mAh capacity; its described child-safety features include a bitter coating and Color Alert.

View on Amazon
Amazon Basics CR2032Largest Pack

Amazon Basics CR2032

The 10-pack offers CR2032 cells for key fobs, 3V output and a listed 225mAh capacity, making it the largest included quantity here.

View on Amazon

Compare key fob battery options and fit details

#ProductVoltageBattery CapacityWeightBuy
1
Duracell CR20321. Duracell CR2032Best Overall
3 V1500 milliamp hours18.14 gView on Amazon
2
Energizer 20322. Energizer 2032Child Safety Features
3 V240 milliamp hours18.14 gView on Amazon
33 V2254.54 gView on Amazon
43 V225 milliamp hours—View on Amazon
5
Lucrum Chevy GMC CR20325. Lucrum Chevy GMC CR2032GMC and Chevy model coverage
—240 milliamp hours—View on Amazon
6
Deluxe Universal CR20326. Deluxe Universal CR2032General CR2032 Fit
———View on Amazon
7
HIVEVOLT Nissan CR20327. HIVEVOLT Nissan CR2032Nissan model-specific fob cells
3 V——View on Amazon
8
Key Battery Outlet CR20328. Key Battery Outlet CR2032Basic CR2032 vehicle replacement
3 V—2.9 gView on Amazon
9
Duracell CR20169. Duracell CR2016CR2016 fob and remote cells
3 V19.07 gView on Amazon
10
Duracell CR245010. Duracell CR2450High-capacity CR2450 devices
3 V620 milliamp hours17.01 gView on Amazon

Detailed Reviews: Best Battery For Key Fob

Duracell CR2032

#1 · Best Overall

1. Duracell CR2032

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Battery Capacity: 1500 milliamp hours
  • Weight: 18.14 g

Best for: CR2032 for family key fobs.

Why it ranks #1: A four-count CR2032 pack is explicitly listed for key fobs, with 3V output, 1,500mAh listed capacity and a bitter coating on both sides.

A bitter coating on both sides is the Duracell CR2032’s distinguishing safety feature, helping deter young children from swallowing a coin cell. Its 3V CR2032 format also serves many car key fobs and other small electronics, making this four-count option relevant when a household has several compatible devices.

The CR2032 designation and 3V output identify the cell type for key fobs and devices such as AirTags, fitness trackers, glucose monitors, and tire pressure sensors. That range can make one battery type useful across household electronics, though each device must call for CR2032. The coating on both sides adds a deterrent in homes with young children, while the stated 10-year storage guarantee can help when keeping spare cells for later replacement.

Pros
  • Bitter taste coating is applied to both sides.
  • Listed for major car key fobs, including Toyota, Honda, BMW, Ford, Chevrolet, and Lexus.
  • 3V CR2032 format also suits AirTags and several small electronics.
  • Four cells provide spares for compatible devices.
Cons
  • Only fits devices that specify a CR2032 cell.

Skip it if you need a CR2016 or CR2450 cell; this CR2032 is a different battery size.

A good match for households replacing CR2032 key-fob cells and keeping spares for other listed electronics. The two-sided bitter coating is useful around young children, but the cell is not a substitute for other coin-cell sizes.

Full product details
BrandDURACELL
Battery Capacity1500 milliamp_hours
Battery Weight4.54 g
Compatible Phone ModelsApple AirTag
Included Components2032 Lithium Coin Batteries
Item Dimensions0.19 x 3.75 x 4.5 inches
Item Weight18.14 g
ManufacturerDuracell Distributing, Inc
Modelcr2032 x4ct
Model Number2032x4ct-US
Recommended UsesApple AirTag, Key Fob, Thermometer
Voltage3 volts
Warranty DescriptionGuaranteed for 10 years in Storage

Listed on Amazon as: Duracell 2032 Lithium Battery, 4 Count, AirTag & Key Fob, CR2032 3V Cell

View on Amazon
Energizer 2032

#2 · Child Safety Features

2. Energizer 2032

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Battery Capacity: 240 milliamp hours
  • Weight: 18.14 g

Best for: Child-alert 2032 replacement.

Why it ranks #2: This four-pack supplies 3V CR2032 cells with a listed 240mAh capacity; its described child-safety features include a bitter coating and Color Alert.

Energizer’s Color Alert technology is the clearest differentiator: the listing says it dyes the mouth blue seconds after contact with saliva to help alert caregivers to possible ingestion. The 3V 2032 coin cells also serve buyers seeking replacements for compatible key fobs and other devices.

The 3V 2032 format identifies this four-pack for devices specifying that coin-cell type, including compatible fobs. Its listed 240mAh capacity provides a concrete specification for buyers comparing cells, while the Child Shield combines Color Alert, a bitter coating, and secure packaging on select packs. That combination focuses the product on households attentive to battery safety; the packaging feature is not stated to be present on every pack, so the Color Alert and coating are the more consistent listed points.

Pros
  • Color Alert dyes the mouth blue after saliva contact to help alert caregivers.
  • Bitter coating is part of the Child Shield.
  • Four 3V 2032 batteries are included.
  • 240mAh capacity is specified.
Cons
  • Secure packaging is available only on select packs.

Skip it if you require confirmed secure packaging; the listing says that feature appears only on select packs.

A suitable option for a buyer replacing compatible 2032 fob cells who values the listed Color Alert and bitter coating. Secure packaging is not assured on every pack, and the 2032 format will not fit devices requiring another cell size.

Full product details
BrandEnergizer
Battery Capacity240 milliamp_hours
Battery Weight3 g
Compatible Phone ModelsWatch
Included ComponentsBattery Pack
Item Dimensions0.2 x 3.7 x 4.3 inches
Item Weight18.14 g
ManufacturerEnergizer
Model3V Lithium Coin Cell 2032
Model Number30039800117275
Voltage3 volts
Warranty DescriptionContact Energizer Customer Care

Listed on Amazon as: Energizer 2032 Batteries (4 Pack), 3V Lithium Coin Batteries

View on Amazon
Amazon Basics CR2032

#3 · Largest Pack

3. Amazon Basics CR2032

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Battery Capacity: 225
  • Weight: 4.54 g

Best for: Multi-device CR2032 spares.

Why it ranks #3: The 10-pack offers CR2032 cells for key fobs, 3V output and a listed 225mAh capacity, making it the largest included quantity here.

Ten CR2032 cells make the Amazon Basics pack useful for buyers replacing several key-fob batteries or keeping a supply for other small electronics. The listing also names watches, calculators, and Apple TV remotes, so its appeal extends beyond automotive use when those devices call for this 3V coin-cell type.

The 3V CR2032 specification supports choosing the right cell type for compatible fobs and the listed watches, calculators, and Apple TV remotes. A ten-cell quantity means replacements can be kept on hand for multiple devices, while model engraving helps identify the cell when sorting spares. The listing also names BR2032, DL2032, and ECR2032 as replacement designations; buyers should still follow the battery type specified by each device.

Pros
  • Ten CR2032 lithium coin cells are included.
  • Listed for key fobs, watches, calculators, and Apple TV remotes.
  • 3V output and 225mAh capacity are specified.
  • Engraved model marking aids identification in storage.
Cons
  • The listing specifies non-coated cells, without a bitter-taste deterrent.

Skip it if you want a bitter-coated cell for a home with young children; Duracell 2032 has coating on both sides.

A practical choice for someone maintaining several CR2032 devices or wanting clearly marked spares. Its wide listed device range and ten-cell supply suit mixed electronics, while buyers prioritizing a bitter coating should choose a different option.

Full product details
BrandAmazon Basics
Battery Capacity225
Compatible Phone ModelsWatches
Item Dimensions0.79 x 0.79 x 0.13 inches
Item Weight4.54 g
ManufacturerAmazon
ModelCoin Cell Battery
Model NumberCR2032AB/10B
Voltage3 volts
Additional InformationImportant information

Listed on Amazon as: Amazon Basics CR2032 3V Lithium Coin Cell Batteries for Key Fob, Watch, Remote, Child-Proof Package, Non-Coated, AirTag Compatible, 10-Pack

View on Amazon
Deluxe Chevy GMC CR2032

#4 · Chevy GMC Fit

4. Deluxe Chevy GMC CR2032

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Battery Capacity: 225 milliamp hours

Best for: Chevy and GMC fob replacement.

Why it ranks #4: This two-pack is specifically listed as a Chevy and GMC key fob replacement and identifies its included cells as CR2032, 3V batteries.

Chevy- and GMC-specific positioning gives this two-cell Deluxe Batteries pack a focused use case: replacing a CR2032 in a compatible vehicle fob. The listing says its cells come from the manufacturer used by Chevrolet and GMC, a detail aimed at owners seeking an OEM-source replacement rather than a general-purpose coin-cell multipack.

The CR2032 designation and 3V specification establish the battery type and voltage for compatible fobs, while the stated Chevy and GMC focus narrows the intended audience. Deluxe Batteries says the cells are sourced from the same manufacturer used by Chevrolet and GMC, connecting the sourcing claim to its OEM-replacement positioning. With two cells included, owners have a second replacement on hand, but the listing directs buyers to check its fit guide before selecting the pack.

Pros
  • CR2032 format is specified for the replacement cells.
  • 3V voltage is stated.
  • Targeted to Chevy and GMC key fobs.
  • Two cells are included, providing a spare.
Cons
  • The stated vehicle focus is limited to Chevy and GMC fobs.

Skip it if you need a general-purpose CR2032 pack; Amazon Basics CR2032 10-Pack lists watches, remotes, and calculators too.

Consider this pack if you own a Chevy or GMC and want a two-cell CR2032 replacement with the stated automaker-manufacturer sourcing. Its focused vehicle coverage makes it less suitable for buyers seeking a broadly described multipurpose pack.

Full product details
BrandDeluxe Batteries
Battery Capacity225 milliamp_hours
Included Components(2) Original Deluxe Key Fob Replacement Battery CR2032 for Chevy & GMC
ManufacturerDeluxe Batteries
ModelKey Fob Battery for Chevy GMC
Model NumberKey Fob Battery for Chevy GMC
Recommended UsesPremium Car Key Fob Battery Replacement OEM Chevy GMC
Voltage3 volts

Listed on Amazon as: Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Chevy & GMC, Pack of 2, Check Fit Guide

View on Amazon
Lucrum Chevy GMC CR2032

#5

5. Lucrum Chevy GMC CR2032

  • Battery Capacity: 240 milliamp hours

Best for: GMC and Chevy model coverage.

Why it ranks #5: The two-pack is listed for compatible GMC and Chevy fobs and specifies CR2032, 3V cells with a 240mAh capacity; model-year fit still matters.

Lucrum names GMC and Chevy models across multiple years, including Acadia, Canyon, Sierra, and Yukon, making its two-cell CR2032 pack useful for owners checking a specific fob replacement. The listed 240mAh capacity and 3V coin-cell format add concrete specifications to that vehicle-focused compatibility pitch.

The GMC and Chevy model list gives owners a way to compare their vehicle with the stated coverage, while the CR2032 and 3V details identify the required battery type. A 240mAh capacity is also specified, and two cells are included for a replacement plus a spare. Lucrum notes that key fobs can vary by model year and advises checking that the fob uses CR2032, so the vehicle list and actual cell type both matter before installation.

Pros
  • Compatibility includes named GMC and Chevy models.
  • CR2032 and 3V specifications are provided.
  • 240mAh capacity is stated.
  • Two cells are included.
Cons
  • The listing warns that key-fob fit can vary by model year.

Skip it if you need a broad household multipack; Amazon Basics CR2032 10-Pack lists several non-automotive devices and includes ten cells.

A relevant choice for GMC or Chevy owners whose model and fob battery type match the listing. Its named vehicle coverage is helpful, but year variation means checking the specific fob’s CR2032 requirement remains important.

Full product details
BrandLucrum
Battery Capacity240 milliamp_hours
Battery Weight3 g
ManufacturerLucrum
Recommended UsesWatch

Listed on Amazon as: Lucrum 2PCs CR2032 Key Fob Battery Compatible with GMC & Chevy (2010-2022)

View on Amazon
Deluxe Universal CR2032

#6 · General CR2032 Fit

6. Deluxe Universal CR2032

Best for: Automaker-sourced universal CR2032.

Why it ranks #6: Its two included CR2032 replacements are described for car key fobs generally, though the listing provides fewer specific fit details than vehicle-targeted options.

Deluxe Batteries positions this two-cell CR2032 pack around sourcing from the same manufacturer used by automakers, making it relevant to drivers seeking a broadly marketed key-fob replacement. The title calls it universal fit, while the product details describe it as a replacement for car key fobs rather than a multi-device battery assortment.

The CR2032 designation gives buyers a specific coin-cell type to compare with the battery called for by their fob, and the two-cell quantity leaves one replacement available after the first change. Deluxe Batteries says the cells come from the same trusted manufacturer used by automakers and are supplied from its USA-based facility. Those claims support the product’s OEM-replacement positioning, but the listing does not enumerate vehicle makes or models, so its universal-fit wording is not a detailed fit list.

Pros
  • CR2032 replacement batteries are specified.
  • Two cells are included.
  • Positioned for car key-fob replacement.
  • Sourcing is stated to match a manufacturer used by automakers.
Cons
  • The listing provides no vehicle-by-vehicle compatibility list.

Skip it if you need a named vehicle fit list; Lucrum 2PCs CR2032 lists GMC and Chevy model coverage.

This pack suits a driver whose fob calls for CR2032 and who values the stated automaker-supplier sourcing. Because the listing gives no vehicle-by-vehicle coverage, buyers who need an explicit make and model match may prefer a more specific fit listing.

Full product details
BrandDeluxe Batteries
Included Components(2) Original Deluxe Key Fob Replacement Batteries CR2032 for Car Key Fobs
ManufacturerDeluxe Batteries
ModelCR2032 Key Fob Battery Replacement for Car Key Fobs
Model NumberDeluxe Key Fob Replacement Batteries
Recommended UsesPremium Car Key Fob Battery Replacement OEM

Listed on Amazon as: CR2032 Key Fob Replacement Batteries, Universal Fit, Pack of 2

View on Amazon
HIVEVOLT Nissan CR2032

#7

7. HIVEVOLT Nissan CR2032

  • Voltage: 3 V

Best for: Nissan model-specific fob cells.

Why it ranks #7: This two-pack lists 3V CR2032 cells and Nissan compatibility across multiple models, including Altima, Rogue and Sentra; confirm the fob and model year.

A long list of Nissan nameplates and model years makes HIVEVOLT’s two-pack a targeted option for owners replacing a Nissan key-fob battery. The listing names models including Altima, Rogue, Sentra, and Pathfinder, giving buyers a vehicle-focused starting point instead of presenting the cells as an unrestricted universal replacement.

The 3V CR2032 specification identifies the coin-cell type, while the extensive Nissan compatibility list helps owners narrow whether the pack suits their vehicle. The title names models such as Altima, Versa, Pathfinder, Rogue, Sentra, Murano, and Leaf, and the features provide model-year ranges for several entries. Two batteries are included, leaving a spare after replacement. Since vehicle coverage varies by model and year, the listed compatibility details matter more than the broad Nissan label alone.

Pros
  • 3V CR2032 batteries are specified.
  • Two batteries are included.
  • Compatibility is listed for numerous Nissan models.
  • Model-year ranges are given for several listed vehicles.
Cons
  • Its stated vehicle coverage is focused on Nissan models.

Skip it if you drive a Chevy or GMC; Deluxe Batteries Key Fob Replacement Batteries for Chevy & GMC targets those fobs.

A sensible shortlist candidate for Nissan owners whose vehicle appears in the supplied compatibility details and calls for CR2032. The model and year coverage is the key boundary, so owners of other makes should choose a differently targeted option.

Full product details
BrandHIVEVOLT
Battery Weight22.7 g
Included ComponentsCr2032 Batteries
ManufacturerHIVEVOLT
ModelCr2032
Model NumberCr2032
Voltage3 volts
Warranty Description1 Year Warranty

Listed on Amazon as: Key Fob Batteries for Nissan Altima Versa Pathfinder Rogue Sentra Murano Maxima Kicks Titan Frontier Armada Leaf Juke Quest 370Z GT-R, Premium Lithium Batteries, 2 Pack

View on Amazon
Key Battery Outlet CR2032

#8

8. Key Battery Outlet CR2032

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Weight: 2.9 g

Best for: Basic CR2032 vehicle replacement.

Why it ranks #8: The two-pack contains 3V CR2032 cells and is listed for passenger cars, trucks and vans, but provides no specific vehicle-model fit guide.

Passenger cars, trucks, and vans are all named in Key Battery Outlet’s vehicle compatibility details, giving this two-cell CR2032 pack a straightforward automotive focus. The USA-based company says it partners with official distributors and sources its premium batteries from the provider used by official car brands.

The CR2032 size and 3V voltage give buyers the core specifications to compare with a vehicle fob’s required cell. Its listed passenger-car, truck, and van compatibility supports an automotive replacement use, while the two-cell quantity supplies a second battery for later use. The company’s distributor and sourcing statements explain its OEM-oriented positioning, but no vehicle makes or model years are enumerated in the supplied details, leaving the buyer without a model-by-model fit list.

Pros
  • CR2032 size and 3V voltage are specified.
  • Compatibility is listed for passenger cars, trucks, and vans.
  • Two batteries are included.
  • Company states it sources from the provider used by official car brands.
Cons
  • No vehicle make or model-year compatibility list is supplied.

Skip it if you need named Chevy and GMC fit details; Lucrum 2PCs CR2032 lists models and year ranges.

This suits a buyer whose fob calls for CR2032 and who wants a small two-cell automotive replacement pack. The broad vehicle categories and sourcing claim are useful context, but the listing does not specify individual makes or model years.

Full product details
BrandKey Battery Outlet
Compatible with Vehicle TypePassenger Car, Truck, Van
Included Components(2) CR2032 Batteries
Item Weight2.9 g
ManufacturerKey Battery Outlet
Part NumberKey Fob Battery Replacement
Manufacturer Warranty Description90 Days
Model NumberCR2032
SizeCR2032
Voltage3 volts

Listed on Amazon as: CR2032 Key Fob Battery Replacement (2 Pack)

View on Amazon
Duracell CR2016

#9

9. Duracell CR2016

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Battery Capacity: 1
  • Weight: 9.07 g

Best for: CR2016 fob and remote cells.

Why it ranks #9: This two-count, 3V CR2016 pack is listed for car key fobs, but suits only remotes that specifically require the smaller CR2016 size.

The CR2016 size distinguishes this Duracell pack from the many CR2032 options, making it relevant when a key fob specifically calls for the thinner 2016 cell. The listing also names car remotes, watches, and medical devices, while its child-safety features add a household consideration for coin-cell storage.

The 3V CR2016 specification is the essential fit point: it serves compatible fobs and listed devices, but is not a substitute for a CR2032. Duracell describes child-safety design and the supplied facts specify bitter coating on both sides and child-safe packaging, which may matter when storing spares around children. The two-cell pack can cover a replacement and another compatible device, while the stated device range includes remotes, fitness trackers, and calculators.

Pros
  • CR2016 3V format is stated for compatible key fobs and remotes.
  • Bitter coating is specified on both sides.
  • Child-safe packaging is listed.
  • Two cells are included.
Cons
  • CR2016 size will not replace a CR2032 in a fob requiring that larger cell.

Skip it if you need a CR2032 cell; Duracell 2032 CR2032 4 Count is the matching size option.

Choose this for a fob or other device that specifically calls for CR2016, especially if the listed child-safety features matter at home. Its distinct cell size is a strict fit boundary, not an interchangeable alternative to CR2032.

Full product details
BrandDURACELL
Battery Capacity1
Battery Weight1.9 g
Item Dimensions0.19 x 1.75 x 3.5 inches
Item Weight9.07 g
ManufacturerDuracell Distributing, Inc
ModelCR2016 x2ct
Model NumberCR2016x2ct
Recommended UsesDoorbell, Remote Control Vehicle, TV Remote
Voltage3 volts
Warranty DescriptionLimited warranty

Listed on Amazon as: Duracell CR2016 3V Lithium Battery, 2 Count, Key Fob & Watch & Car Remote

View on Amazon
Duracell CR2450

#10

10. Duracell CR2450

  • Voltage: 3 V
  • Battery Capacity: 620 milliamp hours
  • Weight: 17.01 g

Best for: High-capacity CR2450 devices.

Why it ranks #10: The single 3V CR2450 cell has a listed 620mAh capacity and is described for key fobs, but fits only remotes requiring CR2450.

A stated 620mAh capacity sets this Duracell CR2450 apart among the listed coin cells, while its 3V output suits devices that specifically require the 2450 size. The listing names key fobs, watches, car remotes, medical devices, and security devices, alongside child-resistant packaging.

The CR2450 designation is the crucial compatibility point for fob owners: the cell fits only devices specifying this size, not fobs that take CR2032 or CR2016. Its 620mAh capacity and 3V voltage offer concrete specifications for buyers comparing replacement cells. Duracell also lists child-resistant packaging, a practical consideration when storing the single included battery in a home with children. The product’s device range extends beyond fobs to watches and security electronics.

Pros
  • CR2450 size and 3V voltage are specified.
  • 620mAh capacity is listed.
  • Named uses include key fobs, car remotes, watches, and security devices.
  • Child-resistant packaging is stated.
Cons
  • Only one battery is included.

Skip it if you need a two-cell CR2032 pack; Amazon Basics CR2032 10-Pack supplies that different cell size in greater quantity.

A fit for someone whose key fob or other device specifically requires CR2450 and who values the stated capacity and child-resistant packaging. The single-cell quantity and distinct size make it unsuitable as a general CR2032 spare pack.

Full product details
BrandDURACELL
Battery Capacity620 milliamp_hours
Battery Weight1 g
Compatible Phone Modelsmedical and security devices, digital cameras, watches and toy
Included Components3V LITH CARDED
Item Dimensions0.04 x 0.3 x 0.18 inches
Item Weight17.01 g
ManufacturerDuracell Distributing, Inc
Model2450 Lithium Battery
Model NumberCR2450
Voltage3 volts
Warranty DescriptionLIMITED WARRANTY
Additional InformationImportant information

Listed on Amazon as: Duracell CR2450 Lithium Battery, 1 Count, Key Fob & Watch & Car Remote

View on Amazon

Why the battery code matters more than voltage

A matching 3V rating does not make different coin-cell sizes interchangeable in a key fob. This set includes CR2032, CR2016 and CR2450 batteries, all described as 3V options, but each has a different model code. A fob designed for one size may not accept another correctly, even when both are lithium coin cells.

The product data does not establish cross-compatibility between these sizes, so use the code printed on the removed cell or the vehicle’s instructions rather than choosing by voltage alone. This is especially important when browsing listings that describe broad key fob use: a general device claim does not confirm your particular remote’s size.

If a battery does not sit flat or the cover will not close normally, stop rather than forcing it. Confirm the exact code before purchase and installation.

When vehicle-specific fit claims need a second check

A vehicle-model compatibility claim still needs to be checked against the exact fob and model year. The Chevy and GMC listings name particular makes, and Lucrum gives model-year ranges for examples including Acadia, Canyon and Sierra. HIVEVOLT lists a range of Nissan models and years, including Altima and Rogue.

Those details are more targeted than a generic CR2032 listing, but the supplied data also cautions that key fobs can vary by model year and asks buyers to verify fit. The battery code remains the practical cross-check: confirm that the remote takes the listed size, then compare its vehicle details with the product’s fit information.

If you cannot confirm both, a vehicle-specific title alone is not enough to establish a match. This avoids ordering a cell that is the right nominal type for some fobs but not the one in your vehicle.

How to Choose a Key Fob Battery

Exact battery size

Look for the exact coin-cell code required by your fob before comparing brands or pack sizes. The products here include CR2032 options, a CR2016 and a CR2450; all three sizes are listed as 3V where voltage is provided, but the shared voltage does not establish that they fit the same remote. The CR2032 choices include general-purpose and vehicle-specific listings, while the other two are clearly identified by their own codes.

Buyers who have confirmed CR2032 should compare the larger selection of CR2032 products. If the old cell or vehicle instructions specify CR2016 or CR2450, choose that matching code instead of substituting a more common-looking option.

Vehicle compatibility detail

Look for vehicle and model-year information when you want a replacement targeted to your car. Deluxe Batteries lists a Chevy and GMC CR2032 option; Lucrum names Chevy and GMC models with year ranges, while HIVEVOLT lists Nissan models and years. Other options, such as Duracell CR2032 and Amazon Basics CR2032, describe broader key fob use rather than a particular vehicle fit.

A named make can help narrow the search, but it does not replace checking the fob’s battery code and the listing details. Buyers who have confirmed the exact model and year may prefer a targeted listing; shoppers uncertain about fit should verify the required size first and avoid treating a broad compatibility claim as a guarantee.

Pack quantity and listed capacity

Compare the included quantity and listed capacity, while treating capacity figures as product data rather than a guarantee of runtime in your fob. Pack sizes range from one CR2450 cell to two-count options, four-count Duracell and Energizer CR2032 packs, and Amazon Basics’ 10-pack. Listed capacity also varies: Duracell CR2032 shows 1,500mAh, Energizer 2032 lists 240mAh, and Amazon Basics CR2032 lists 225mAh.

Some products do not provide a capacity figure, so do not assume their performance matches a stated value. Buyers replacing one confirmed, less common size may choose a single-cell listing; households keeping CR2032 spares may prefer a multi-pack.

Always prioritize matching the required code over pack size or capacity.

Which key fob battery should you choose?

Choose Duracell CR2032 if your fob takes CR2032 and you want a four-pack with a listed 1,500mAh capacity and a bitter coating on both sides. For a CR2032 bulk pack, Amazon Basics CR2032 includes 10 cells; for its described Color Alert child-safety feature, consider Energizer Chevy or GMC owners can compare Deluxe Chevy GMC CR2032 and Lucrum Chevy GMC CR2032 against their exact fob and model year; Nissan owners can check HIVEVOLT Nissan CR2032.

Deluxe Universal CR2032 and Key Battery Outlet CR2032 are general alternatives, with less vehicle-specific fit detail. If your fob specifies CR2016 or CR2450, choose Duracell CR2016 or Duracell CR2450 respectively.

Do not select a different size based only on its 3V rating.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I confirm which coin-cell size my key fob takes?

Check the code printed on the old cell and compare it with the replacement; the fob’s instructions or markings may also identify the required size. Match the full code, such as CR2032, CR2016, or CR2450, and follow the fob’s guidance for battery orientation when installing it.

Can I replace a CR2032 key fob battery with a CR2016 or CR2450?

No. Choose the exact size specified for your fob: CR2032, CR2016, and CR2450 are different cell sizes, even though the listed options are 3V batteries. A shared voltage does not establish fit.

Use a CR2016 or CR2450 only when that exact code is required by your fob.

What should I do if a new battery does not make my key fob work?

First confirm that the battery code matches the fob’s requirement and that the cell is seated in the correct orientation. Check that the contacts are clean and the fob is reassembled properly. If it still does not work, consult the vehicle or fob instructions, or have the fob checked.

Should I choose a vehicle-specific replacement battery?

Use the exact battery code required by your fob first, then check any vehicle-specific fit information against your vehicle and fob. Some listings name particular makes or models, while others describe universal fit. A vehicle name in a listing alone does not confirm compatibility with every fob for that vehicle.

Does pack size or a child-safety feature affect my choice?

Choose a pack size that suits your replacement needs, while keeping any spare cells secured. Among these options, Duracell CR2032 is a four-count pack with a bitter coating on both sides, and Energizer 2032 is described as having a Color Alert child-safety feature. These features do not replace checking the required cell size.

Final Words

Start by confirming the exact code printed on the old cell or specified for your fob; do not choose by voltage alone. For a CR2032 fob, Duracell is the Best Overall pick, while Amazon Basics offers a 10-cell pack and Energizer has the described Color Alert feature. Check vehicle-specific listings against your exact fob.

For CR2016 or CR2450 requirements, select the matching Duracell size instead.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *