A strong electric car charger matches its amperage to your vehicle, outlet, and electrical circuit; adjustable-current models suit drivers who need flexibility at home. This roundup compares ten J1772 chargers, from 8–16A Level 1 and Level 2 options to 48A and 50A Level 2 units. The ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger leads for everyday home use because it offers five current settings from 16A to 40A, a NEMA 14-50 plug, a 25-foot cable, and a delay timer.
Higher-amperage models can be a better fit when the vehicle and installed circuit support them, while lower-current options work with more limited charging setups. Check connector compatibility and the circuit requirements before choosing; the highest advertised amperage is not automatically the right match.
The ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger is the best overall choice for drivers seeking a practical range of charging amps. Its five settings—16A, 20A, 24A, 32A, and 40A—make it easier to match charging current to home capacity, and its NEMA 14-50 plug and 25-foot cable suit common home charging setups. It also includes a 1–12-hour delay timer.
Choose a higher-current unit only if your vehicle and electrical circuit support its requirements.
Our Top Picks
Best OverallFive settings from 16A to 40A, a NEMA 14-50 plug, 25-foot cable, and 1–12-hour delay timer support flexible home charging.
View on Amazon
Most Current SettingsOffers five current settings from 8A to 40A, 240V charging, a 25-foot cable, and SAE-J1772 vehicle compatibility.
View on Amazon
Highest CapacityIts listed 50A rating and 11.5kW output suit buyers seeking high charging capacity; the product specifies a 240V NEMA 14-50P connection.
View on Amazon- Wall-Mount Option ApexCharger MACH 1
- Most Outlet Flexibility CHARGEHERE 32A Charger
Compare these home EV charging options
| # | Product | Weight | Output Voltage | Input Voltage | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1. ELEGRP Level 2 ChargerBest Overall | 13.2 lb | — | — | View on Amazon |
| 2 | 2. BETUMODA Level 2 ChargerMost Current Settings | — | 240 V AC | 240 V AC | View on Amazon |
| 3 | 3. ENERGYGENIE 50A ChargerHighest Capacity | — | — | 240 V AC | View on Amazon |
| 4 | 4. ApexCharger MACH 1Wall-Mount Option | 15 lb | 240 V | 240 V AC | View on Amazon |
| 5 | 5. EVDANCE 40A Charger40-Amp NEMA 14-50 Home Charging | 11.59 lb | — | — | View on Amazon |
| 6 | 6. SEGUMA 40A Charger40-Amp J1772 Home Charging | — | 240 V | 240 V | View on Amazon |
| 7 | 7. CHARGEHERE 32A ChargerMost Outlet Flexibility | 10.3 lb | 240 V | 240 V | View on Amazon |
| 8 | 8. ApexCharger MACH 3Portable Level 1 And Level 2 Charging | — | 240 V, 240 V AC | 240 V | View on Amazon |
| 9 | 9. Raylix J1772 ChargerPortable Charging With Scheduled Starts | 6.64 lb | — | — | View on Amazon |
| 10 | 10. Grasside Level 1&2 ChargerLower-Amperage Level 1 And 2 Use | 7.41 lb | — | — | View on Amazon |
Detailed Reviews: Best Amps For Electric Car Charger

#1 · Best Overall
1. ELEGRP Level 2 Charger
- Weight: 13.2 lb
Best for: Adjustable Current And Delayed Charging.
Why it ranks #1: Five settings from 16A to 40A, a NEMA 14-50 plug, 25-foot cable, and 1–12-hour delay timer support flexible home charging.
Five selectable current levels, from 16 to 40 amps, let the ELEGRP charger match charging to available home capacity. Its 9.6-kW maximum, NEMA 14-50 plug, 25-foot cable, and 1–12-hour timing delay make it a flexible Level 2 option for J1772 vehicles.
The five current choices provide a way to adapt operation to a home circuit’s capacity, while the 1–12-hour delay can schedule charging for a later start. A NEMA 14-50 plug supports connection to a compatible 240-volt outlet, and the 25-foot extension cable offers reach across a garage or driveway. The listing states up to 9.6 kW and identifies a J1772 connector, so this is a portable home-focused choice rather than a hardwired station.
- Five current settings: 16, 20, 24, 32, and 40 amps
- 1–12-hour timing delay
- 25-foot cable
- ETL certified
- Its listed 240-volt connection requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet.
Skip it if you need a hardwired station or charging through a standard 120-volt outlet; this model lists a NEMA 14-50 plug.
Choose it for a J1772 vehicle, a compatible 240-volt outlet, and a routine that benefits from current selection or delayed starts. The plug-in format is the key fit consideration for home installation.
Full product details
| Brand | ELEGRP |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 13.2 pounds |
| Item model number | ECP24-40A0-01 |
| Manufacturer | ELE Group Co., Ltd. |
| Part Number | ECP24-40A0-01 |
| Model | ECP24-40A0-01 |
| Dimensions | 144 x 134 x 47 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, ETL Certified with 25FT Extension Cable
View on Amazon
#2 · Most Current Settings
2. BETUMODA Level 2 Charger
- Output Voltage: 240 V AC
- Input Voltage: 240 V AC
Best for: Current Control With On-Unit Display.
Why it ranks #2: Offers five current settings from 8A to 40A, 240V charging, a 25-foot cable, and SAE-J1772 vehicle compatibility.
Five current settings, including a 40-amp maximum, let the BETUMODA charger adapt to different charging requirements. Its LED display adds an on-unit information point, while a 25-foot cable and NEMA 14-50 plug support a portable 240-volt setup for SAE J1772 vehicles and plug-in hybrids.
The adjustable settings span 8, 16, 24, 32, and 40 amps, giving owners choices for different charging needs rather than a single fixed current. A heavy-duty NEMA 14-50 plug supplies the listed 240-volt connection, and the 25-foot cable can help reach a vehicle parked away from the outlet. The LED display provides visible information at the unit. The listing says a Tesla adapter is sold separately, so Tesla owners need to account for that accessory.
- Five current settings from 8 to 40 amps
- LED display
- 25-foot cable
- NEMA 14-50 plug
- A Tesla adapter is sold separately.
Skip it if you own a Tesla and need an included adapter; the listing says its adapter is sold separately.
A good candidate for J1772 drivers who want selectable current and an LED display with a NEMA 14-50 connection. Tesla owners should factor in the separately sold adapter, and all buyers need a suitable outlet.
Full product details
| Brand | BETUMODA |
|---|---|
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts_of_alternating_current |
| Manufacturer | Thunder Direct |
| Model Number | 40A EV CHARGER |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts_of_alternating_current |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 2 EV Charger, 40 Amp 240V 9.6kW, 25ft Cable, LED Display
View on Amazon
#3 · Highest Capacity
3. ENERGYGENIE 50A Charger
- Input Voltage: 240 V AC
Best for: Higher-Output Portable Level 2 Charging.
Why it ranks #3: Its listed 50A rating and 11.5kW output suit buyers seeking high charging capacity; the product specifies a 240V NEMA 14-50P connection.
An 11.5-kW, 50-amp rating sets the ENERGYGENIE charger apart for buyers seeking higher-output Level 2 charging. The listing states up to 45 miles of range per hour and includes a 25-foot J1772 cable with a NEMA 14-50P connection for compatible vehicles and outlets.
The stated 50-amp output and 11.5-kW power provide the central reason to consider this model for home charging, with the listing claiming up to 45 miles of range added per hour. Its 25-foot cable gives some flexibility when the parking position is away from the outlet, while the NEMA 14-50P plug indicates the required outlet style. Compatibility is listed for North American vehicles using the standard SAE J1772 connector; confirm the vehicle and electrical setup match those requirements.
- 50-amp Level 2 output
- 11.5-kW stated power
- 25-foot J1772 cable
- NEMA 14-50P plug
- Its NEMA 14-50P connection requires a compatible outlet for plug-in use.
Skip it if you need a charger for a Tesla NACS port without a J1772 adapter; this listing specifies a J1772 connector.
This suits J1772 vehicle owners seeking the listed 50-amp output for a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet. The connection and vehicle port are important boundaries to check before choosing this portable charger.
Full product details
| Brand | ENERGYGENIE |
|---|---|
| Compatible Devices | All major North American electric and hybrid vehicles equipped with the standard SAE J1772 connector, including Chevrolet Volt, Nissan Leaf, Bolt EV, VW, Ford, Honda, KIA, BMW, Hyundai, and more |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts_of_alternating_current |
| Manufacturer | ENERGYGENIE |
| Model Number | 50 Amp fast ev charger |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 2 Fast EV Charger 50Amp 240V NEMA 14-50P 25FT J1772 Cable
View on Amazon
#4 · Wall-Mount Option
4. ApexCharger MACH 1
- Weight: 15 lb
- Output Voltage: 240 V
- Input Voltage: 240 V AC
Best for: Wall-Mount Station For Multiple Connectors.
Why it ranks #4: This wall-mount station supports up to 48A and offers hardwire or NEMA 14-50 installation, plus J1772 and NACS connectors.
The MACH 1 offers 48-amp Level 2 charging with a wall-mount format and either hardwire or NEMA 14-50 installation. Its 30-foot cable, J1772 connector, and included PRO 1 NACS adapter give buyers a setup that can serve vehicles using either listed connector type.
The choice between hardwiring and a NEMA 14-50 connection gives installers two listed ways to connect this wall-mounted station, subject to the site’s electrical setup. A 48-amp rating defines its high-current Level 2 profile, while the 30-foot cable can extend reach around a home or parking area. The J1772 connector and included PRO 1 NACS adapter address both connector types. An outdoor equipment enclosure is listed for harsh weather, supporting indoor or outdoor placement.
- 48-amp Level 2 rating
- Hardwire or NEMA 14-50 connection
- 30-foot cable
- J1772 connector and included NACS adapter
- This is a wall-mount station, not a portable charger.
Skip it if you need a portable charger to move between locations; the MACH 1 is listed as a wall-mount station.
This suits owners planning a fixed indoor or outdoor charging location who want the listed hardwire or NEMA 14-50 options and both connector types. Its wall-mount format is the key installation boundary.
Full product details
| Brand | ApexCharger |
|---|---|
| Color | NEMA Black |
| Compatible Devices | All EVs in the US, ETL certified, Energy Star Certified, UL certified – Up to UL 2594:2022 Ed.3 |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts_of_alternating_current |
| Dimensions | 3.15"D x 6.72"W x 10.35"H |
| Item Weight | 15 pounds |
| Manufacturer | ApexCharger |
| Model Number | ApexCharger Mach 1 |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 5 Year manufacturer warranty |
Why it ranks #5: Provides 40A, 240V, and 9.6kW charging with a NEMA 14-50P plug, 25-foot cable, adjustable current, and timing delay.
A 40-amp, 9.6-kW output is the EVDANCE charger’s defining feature, enabling Level 2 home charging for J1772 vehicles. Its NEMA 14-50P plug and 25-foot cable support a portable setup, while adjustable current and a timing delay give owners control over charging sessions.
The 240-volt, 40-amp rating provides a Level 2 option for compatible J1772 BEVs and PHEVs, and the NEMA 14-50P plug identifies the outlet connection needed for that setup. A 25-foot cable can reach beyond the immediate area beside an outlet, which may reduce vehicle repositioning in a garage or driveway. Adjustable current and timing delay let owners tailor sessions to their routine; the supplied details do not specify the adjustment steps or delay range.
- 40-amp, 9.6-kW Level 2 output
- NEMA 14-50P plug
- 25-foot cable
- Adjustable current and timing delay
- Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet for its listed plug connection.
Skip it if you need a charger for a standard 120-volt outlet; this listing specifies a NEMA 14-50P connection.
For J1772 BEV or PHEV owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet, this portable 40-amp unit offers a long cable and session controls. Its fit depends on having the specified 240-volt outlet.
Full product details
| Brand | EVDANCE |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 11.59 pounds |
| Item model number | EV-ACS4002U |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen YongChuangCheng Technology Co., Limited |
| Part Number | EV-ACS4002U |
| Model | EV Charger |
| Package Dimensions | 17.01 x 13.46 x 5.2 inches |
| Wattage | 9600 watts |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs
View on Amazon
#6
6. SEGUMA 40A Charger
- Output Voltage: 240 V
- Input Voltage: 240 V
Best for: 40-Amp J1772 Home Charging.
Why it ranks #6: This 40A, 240V Level 2 charger is listed for J1772 BEVs and PHEVs and includes a 25-foot cable.
A 40-amp, 240-volt rating makes the SEGUMA charger a straightforward Level 2 option for J1772 BEVs and PHEVs. The 25-foot cable adds reach for home, work, or on-the-go charging, while the listing identifies the vehicle types it supports without specifying a plug style or control settings.
The listed 240-volt input and output pair with the 40-amp Level 2 designation to define the charger’s electrical profile for compatible J1772 vehicles. A 25-foot cable can make a charging location more flexible when the vehicle does not park directly beside the connection point. SEGUMA describes equipment for home, work, or travel use, but the supplied product facts do not identify a plug type, current adjustment, or timer, so installation and scheduling details remain limited.
- 40-amp Level 2 rating
- 240-volt input and output
- 25-foot cable
- Listed for J1772 BEVs and PHEVs
- The supplied listing does not identify its plug type.
Skip it if you need a confirmed NEMA plug style before choosing; this listing does not specify one.
For J1772 BEV and PHEV owners considering 40-amp, 240-volt charging, SEGUMA’s listed cable length offers some placement flexibility. Verify that its connection details suit your planned installation before selecting it.
Full product details
| Brand | SEGUMA |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles (BEVs/PHEVs) |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen YongChuangCheng Technology Co., Limited |
| Model Number | EV-ACS4003U |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 1 Year Warranty |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 2 EV Charger, 40A ETL Certified for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs, 25FT
View on Amazon
#7 · Most Outlet Flexibility
7. CHARGEHERE 32A Charger
- Weight: 10.3 lb
- Output Voltage: 240 V
- Input Voltage: 240 V
Best for: Dual-Outlet Portable Charging.
Why it ranks #7: Adjustable from 6A to 32A, it includes a NEMA 14-50 plug and 5-15 adapter for Level 2 and Level 1 outlets.
Included NEMA 14-50 and NEMA 5-15 connections let the CHARGEHERE charger use listed 240-volt Level 2 or 120-volt Level 1 outlets. Its adjustable 6–32-amp range, delay timer, and 25-foot J1772 cable bring mode and session flexibility to portable charging.
The NEMA 14-50 plug supports the listed 240-volt Level 2 connection, while the included NEMA 5-15 adapter enables Level 1 use from a standard 120-volt outlet. Adjustable current from 6 to 32 amps provides additional control, and a delay timer can accommodate a planned start. The 25-foot J1772 cable offers reach around a parking area. Tesla and other NACS vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter, according to the product details.
- Level 1 and Level 2 outlet options
- Adjustable 6–32-amp current
- Delay timer
- 25-foot J1772 cable
- Tesla and other NACS vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter.
Skip it if you have a NACS vehicle and no compatible J1772 adapter; the listing requires one for those vehicles.
Choose this for J1772 owners who want both listed outlet types, selectable current, and a delay timer in a portable charger. NACS vehicle owners need a compatible adapter, and outlet suitability still matters.
Full product details
| Brand | CHARGEHERE |
|---|---|
| Color | black |
| Compatible Devices | SAE J1772 Electric Vehicles and Plug-in Hybrid Vehicles; Tesla and other NACS vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Item Weight | 10.3 pounds |
| Manufacturer | ChargeHere |
| Model Number | CH-100-PARENT |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 10 Year Manufacturer Warranty |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 1 & Level 2 EV Charger, 32 Amp Portable EV Charger, ETL Certified to UL 2594, 120V/240V, NEMA 14-50 Plug with 5-15 Adapter, Adjustable 6–32A, Delay Timer, 25FT J1772 Cable
View on Amazon
#8
8. ApexCharger MACH 3
- Output Voltage: 240 V, 240 V AC
- Input Voltage: 240 V
Best for: Portable Level 1 And Level 2 Charging.
Why it ranks #8: A 40A portable charger with NEMA 14-50 and 5-15 adapter options offers Level 1 and Level 2 use and listed J1772 and NACS compatibility.
The MACH 3 combines portable Level 1 and Level 2 charging with a 40-amp rating and two listed plug options. A NEMA 14-50 connection and included 5-15 adapter cover the stated outlet formats, while its 25-foot cable and J1772 connector with Tesla mobile NACS address reach and vehicle compatibility.
The NEMA 14-50 plug supports the listed Level 2 configuration, and the included 5-15 adapter adds a Level 1 outlet option for a different charging setup. Its 40-amp rating defines the stated higher-current capability, while the 25-foot cable with holder gives reach and a designated storage point. The J1772 connector and Tesla mobile NACS are listed for US EV compatibility. As a portable charger, it differs from a fixed wall-mounted station.
- Level 1 and Level 2 capability
- 40-amp rating
- NEMA 14-50 plug and 5-15 adapter
- 25-foot cable with holder
- Its listed cable length is 25 feet.
Skip it if you need a fixed wall-mounted station with a 30-foot cable; the MACH 3 is portable and lists 25 feet.
The MACH 3 fits drivers seeking portable Level 1 and Level 2 charging with the listed J1772 and Tesla mobile NACS options. Consider its 25-foot cable reach and outlet requirements when planning where to charge.
Full product details
| Brand | ApexCharger |
|---|---|
| Color | Offblack |
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles (EVs), Tesla vehicles, all US EVs with NACS or J1772 ports |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Dimensions | 2.34"D x 3.79"W x 9.15"H |
| Manufacturer | ApexCharger |
| Model Number | ApexCharger Mach 3 |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts, 240 volts_of_alternating_current |
| Warranty Description | 24/7 support line 424 213 8817, 5-year manufacturer warranty with 24/7 support |
Why it ranks #9: Its 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A settings and 1–12-hour delay timer fit buyers who need lower-current, scheduled charging.
Four current settings and a 1–12-hour delay timer give the Raylix charger practical control over charging sessions. Its listed 8-, 10-, 12-, and 16-amp choices, combined with Level 1 and Level 2 capability and NEMA 5-15/6-20 plugs, support a lower-amperage J1772 charging setup.
The current selector lets owners choose among four listed levels, while the delay timer can postpone a session by up to 12 hours for a schedule that suits their routine. Level 1 and Level 2 capability and the NEMA 5-15/6-20 plug types offer two connection options, but the listing does not state output wattage or a 240-volt NEMA 14-50 connection. Its 16-amp maximum makes it a lower-current choice, not a high-amperage Level 2 unit.
- Four current settings: 8, 10, 12, and 16 amps
- 1–12-hour delay timer
- Level 1 and Level 2 capability
- NEMA 5-15/6-20 plug types
- Its listed current range tops out at 16 amps.
Skip it if you want a 40-amp charger for higher-current Level 2 charging; this model lists a 16-amp maximum.
This is a fit for J1772 owners who value current selection, delayed starts, and the listed Level 1 and Level 2 plug options. Its 16-amp ceiling is the main boundary for buyers comparing output.
Full product details
| Brand | Raylix |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 6.64 pounds |
| Item model number | RAYLIX J1772 portable ev charger |
| Manufacturer | Raylix |
| Package Dimensions | 16.38 x 13.43 x 3.9 inches |
| Additional Information | Important Information Proposition 65 Warning for California Consumers WARNING: This product can expose you to chemicals including butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP) which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov |
Listed on Amazon as: 2026 Upgraded Level 1&2 EV Charger for ALL J1772 EV, NEMA5-15/6-20Plug
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #10: The title lists an 8–16A Level 1 and Level 2 J1772 charger with a 25-foot cord, but provides fewer charging details.
The Grasside charger’s 8–16-amp range is its clearest differentiator, giving buyers a lower-amperage option across Level 1 and Level 2 charging. Its 25-foot cord supports some flexibility in where a J1772-compatible vehicle is parked relative to the charging connection.
This listing identifies both Level 1 and Level 2 operation and an 8–16-amp range, making it relevant to buyers comparing charging modes rather than seeking a higher-amp unit. The 25-foot cord can help reach a vehicle parked farther from the outlet, while the J1772 designation identifies the connector standard. Product details supplied here do not specify plug types, charging power, or control features, so those factors cannot be used to assess installation or session scheduling.
- Level 1 and Level 2 charging
- 8–16-amp range
- 25-foot cord
- J1772 vehicle connector
- Its maximum listed current is 16 amps.
Skip it if you want a listed 40-amp Level 2 charger; this model’s stated range tops out at 16 amps.
Consider it if your J1772 vehicle and charging routine suit an 8–16-amp Level 1 or Level 2 unit. Its lower stated current makes it a poor match for shoppers prioritizing higher-amperage charging.
Full product details
| Brand | Grasside |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 7.41 pounds |
| Item model number | ACP-J16-US-3025 |
| Manufacturer | Grasside |
| Package Dimensions | 16.22 x 12.71 x 4.84 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs
View on AmazonWhy a higher amp rating may not mean faster charging
A higher amp rating does not guarantee that your vehicle will charge faster; the vehicle, circuit, and charger all limit the delivered current. A 50A ENERGYGENIE charger or 48A ApexCharger MACH 1 is not automatically a better match than a 40A portable model. The product data does not establish the maximum current accepted by any particular vehicle, nor does it provide circuit-installation requirements for every unit.
Confirm the car’s onboard charging limit and have the outlet or hardwired circuit checked before selecting a high-current charger. Also distinguish a charger’s maximum rating from an adjustable setting: the ELEGRP Level 2 Charger lists five settings up to 40A, while the CHARGEHERE 32A Charger adjusts from 6A to 32A.
Adjustable steps can help when a home circuit cannot support a unit’s maximum setting, but they do not replace correct electrical installation.
Check connector and outlet fit before buying
The connector and outlet combination can rule out an otherwise suitable amperage. Most portable picks here use a J1772 connector, while the product data says Tesla and other NACS vehicles need a compatible adapter for the CHARGEHERE 32A Charger. The ApexCharger MACH 1 lists both J1772 and an included NACS adapter; the ApexCharger MACH 3 lists J1772 and Tesla mobile NACS connectors.
Outlet choices differ too: several 40A portable models list a NEMA 14-50 plug, while the ApexCharger MACH 1 can be hardwired or use NEMA 14-The CHARGEHERE 32A Charger includes a 5-15 adapter for 120V Level 1 use as well as its 14-50 plug for 240V Level 2 charging.
Verify the actual vehicle port and outlet before purchase, and do not assume an adapter changes a charger’s current or circuit requirements.
How to Choose an EV Charger Amperage
Current range and adjustability
Look for a current range that fits both your charging needs and the limits of your electrical setup. The ELEGRP Level 2 Charger offers 16A, 20A, 24A, 32A, and 40A settings, while the BETUMODA Level 2 Charger adds an 8A option across its five settings. The CHARGEHERE 32A Charger spans 6A to 32A; the Raylix J1772 Charger lists 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A.
At the upper end, ENERGYGENIE lists 50A and ApexCharger MACH 1 supports up to 48A. Buyers who want to adapt current should favour adjustable models; choose a high-current unit only when the car and installation support it.
Power connection and charging level
Match the charger’s connection to the outlet or installation you actually have. The ELEGRP Level 2 Charger, EVDANCE 40A Charger, and ApexCharger MACH 3 list NEMA 14-50 plugs; the CHARGEHERE 32A Charger adds a NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 use. ApexCharger MACH 1 offers hardwired or NEMA 14-50 installation, making it a different fit from portable plug-in models.
Level 1 and Level 2 flexibility appears on CHARGEHERE 32A Charger, ApexCharger MACH 3, Raylix J1772 Charger, and Grasside Level 1&2 Charger. Buyers with a suitable 240V connection can consider Level 2 units; those needing a standard 120V option should prioritize a model that explicitly includes it.
Cable reach and included flexibility
Choose a cable length that reaches your vehicle’s charge port from the intended outlet without relying on an extension. A 25-foot cable or cord is listed for the ELEGRP Level 2 Charger, EVDANCE 40A Charger, SEGUMA 40A Charger, BETUMODA Level 2 Charger, and CHARGEHERE 32A Charger; the ApexCharger MACH 1 lists a 30-foot cable. The ENERGYGENIE title specifies a 25-foot J1772 cable, while the ApexCharger MACH 3 lists a 25-foot cable.
A longer listed cable may help when parking and outlet locations are separated, while a 25-foot option may be sufficient for a more direct garage setup. Compare the outlet position and charge-port location rather than assuming the listed length will suit every parking arrangement.
Which EV Charger Amperage Should You Choose?
For a flexible everyday home option, choose the ELEGRP Level 2 Charger: its 16A–40A settings, 14-50 plug, 25-foot cable, and delay timer cover several common needs. If you want more current steps, the BETUMODA Level 2 Charger spans 8A–40A; for a higher listed maximum, consider the ENERGYGENIE 50A Charger or the 48A ApexCharger MACH 1, after confirming circuit and vehicle limits. Choose the ApexCharger MACH 1 if you prefer a wall-mount unit with hardwire or plug-in installation.
For 120V and 240V outlet flexibility, the CHARGEHERE 32A Charger includes both adapter options. Lower-current charging needs may suit the Raylix J1772 Charger.
Confirm connector fit and electrical requirements before ordering.
Related Buying Guides
- Best Car Chargers For Electric Cars
- Best Amp For A Car
- Best Amps For Car Speakers
- Best Amps For Car Audio
- Best Car Stereo Amps
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I determine the maximum charging amperage my home circuit can safely support?
Check the circuit breaker rating, wiring, outlet or hardwire setup, and the charger’s installation requirements; do not assume the breaker rating is the charger’s safe continuous charging current. Have a qualified electrician verify the circuit and allowable load, then select a charger setting that stays within those limits.
Will a J1772 charger work with my Tesla or another vehicle with a NACS port?
A J1772 charger may work with a vehicle that has a NACS port if you use a compatible adapter and the vehicle supports that charging connection. Check the vehicle and adapter guidance before ordering. The listed MACH 1 and MACH 3 titles specify J1772 and Tesla NACS connectors; confirm the exact connector configuration.
How much faster will a higher-amp charger charge my specific electric vehicle?
The difference depends on your vehicle’s maximum AC charging rate, the charger’s available current, circuit capacity, battery size, and charging conditions. A vehicle cannot take more current than its onboard charging system permits. Compare the vehicle manual’s AC charging limit with the charger setting before expecting a particular speed improvement.
What should I check when choosing between 120V and 240V charging?
Choose a charger and connection that match the outlet or installation available at home. The CHARGEHERE listing specifies 120V/240V use with a NEMA 14-50 plug and 5-15 adapter; other products list different plugs or installation options. Verify the required adapter and electrical setup for your chosen configuration.
Should I choose a plug-in or hardwired charger?
Choose based on the installation your home can support and the charger’s listed connection options. The MACH 1 title lists hardwire or NEMA 14-50 installation, while several portable options list plugs. Confirm circuit capacity, connector fit, and installation requirements with a qualified electrician before purchase.
Final Words
For a flexible everyday home setup, the ELEGRP Level 2 Charger is the strongest fit: its five current settings, NEMA 14-50 plug, 25-foot cable, and delay timer accommodate several common needs. Consider BETUMODA for more current steps, or the listed 50A ENERGYGENIE and 48A MACH 1 only when your vehicle and circuit support them. Check outlet, connector, and installation requirements before ordering.





