A strong portable electric-car charger pairs a connector your vehicle accepts with a plug and charging level your available outlet can support. The eTimxon 16A Portable Charger is a versatile starting point for J1772 drivers who want both Level 1 and Level 2 use, a 25-foot cable, and a household-outlet adapter. This lineup also includes higher-current 240V choices, app-connected models, and chargers with LCD displays or adjustable current.
Those differences matter more than a product’s portable label: a 40A charger cannot deliver its advertised output from a standard household socket, and a cable’s plug must match the outlet. Compare connector compatibility, supported voltage and current, cable reach, and included adapters before choosing.
The eTimxon 16A Portable Charger leads as a portable dual-voltage option for J1772 vehicles: its listed specifications include 110V–240V operation, a 25-foot cable, and a NEMA 5-15 adapter alongside a NEMA 6-20 plug. That combination supports more outlet scenarios than a 240V-only charger, while its stated 16A and 3.84kW output make its Level 2 capability clear. Check your vehicle’s connector and home outlet before buying; Tesla vehicles need an adapter according to the listing.
Our Top Picks
Best OverallIt combines 110V–240V operation, a 25-foot cable, and NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 connection options for flexible J1772 charging.
View on Amazon
Highest CapacityIts 240V NEMA 14-50 plug, five current settings up to 40A, 9.6kW output, and 25-foot cable suit higher-capacity home charging.
View on Amazon
Dual-Level OptionIt includes a 20-foot cable, NEMA 6-20 plug, and NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 or Level 2 charging with J1772 vehicles.
View on Amazon- Long-Reach Option VEVOR 16A Charger
- App-Controlled Energbison WiFi Charger
Compare portable EV chargers by plug, reach, and features
| # | Product | Weight | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 1. eTimxon 16A ChargerBest Overall | — | View on Amazon |
| 2 | 2. ELEGRP 40A ChargerHighest Capacity | 13.2 lb | View on Amazon |
| 3 | 3. VDLPOWERVP 16A ChargerDual-Level Option | 5.61 lb | View on Amazon |
| 4 | 4. VEVOR 16A ChargerLong-Reach Option | 6.8 lb | View on Amazon |
| 5 | 5. Energbison WiFi ChargerApp-Controlled | 7.61 lb | View on Amazon |
| 6 | 6. Raylix J1772 ChargerScheduled current-adjustable charging | 6.64 lb | View on Amazon |
| 7 | 7. Toptoo LCD ChargerDisplay-led household charging | — | View on Amazon |
| 8 | 8. Toptoo 16A ChargerPortable charger with LCD controls | — | View on Amazon |
| 9 | 9. AIMILER 32A ChargerApp-connected 32A Level 2 | 5 g | View on Amazon |
| 10 | 10. Grasside 16A ChargerLong-cord J1772 charging | 7.41 lb | View on Amazon |
Detailed Reviews: Best Portable Charger For Electric Car
Why it ranks #1: It combines 110V–240V operation, a 25-foot cable, and NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 connection options for flexible J1772 charging.
The 25-foot cable gives eTimxon’s 16A portable charger useful reach, while its NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter provide Level 2 and household Level 1 options. The ETL-certified J1772 unit is positioned as a backup charger for compatible EVs and hybrids.
At a 240V connection, the NEMA 6-20 plug supports the listed 16A, 3.84kW output; the supplied NEMA 5-15 adapter offers an alternative household connection. The 25-foot cable can help reach a parked vehicle without relocating it, making the unit practical as a portable backup. eTimxon lists compatibility with J1772 EVs and hybrids, with an exception for Tesla vehicles without an adapter, and identifies the charger as ETL certified.
- 16A, 3.84kW output at 240V
- 25-foot charging cable
- NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter
- ETL certified and compatible with J1772 EVs and hybrids
- Its 16A maximum is below the 32A capacity listed for the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX.
Skip it if you need 32A Level 2 output and Wi-Fi app control; the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX lists those features with a NEMA 14-50P plug.
This eTimxon is a fit for J1772 owners seeking a portable backup with two plug options and a long cable. Tesla vehicles require an adapter, and its 16A rating sets the output boundary.
Full product details
| Brand | eTimxon |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | All EVs and hybrids with J1772 connector (except Tesla without adapter) |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Dimensions | 12"D x 16"W x 5"H |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen Timxon ENERGY Technology Co., Ltd. |
| Model Number | T0-2P16A-A-X.X-M3-NACS |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 1 Year Manufacturer |
Why it ranks #2: Its 240V NEMA 14-50 plug, five current settings up to 40A, 9.6kW output, and 25-foot cable suit higher-capacity home charging.
Up to 40A and 9.6kW output gives the ELEGRP Level 2 charger substantially more listed capacity than lower-current portable units. Its 240V NEMA 14-50 plug, five selectable current levels, and 25-foot cable support home charging where that outlet and reach suit the installation.
The NEMA 14-50 plug connects to a 240V outlet, while the 25-foot cable gives room to park across a garage or driveway without moving the vehicle toward the receptacle. Five current settings—16, 20, 24, 32, and 40A—let owners match charging current to home capacity. A 1–12-hour delay timer supports scheduled starts, and ETL certification is listed as a safety credential for this charger.
- Up to 40A and 9.6kW output
- Five selectable current levels from 16A to 40A
- 25-foot cable with a 240V NEMA 14-50 plug
- 1–12-hour delay timer and ETL certification
- The NEMA 14-50 plug requires a compatible 240V outlet; it is not a household-outlet setup.
Skip it if you need charging from a standard household outlet; the VDLPOWERVP EC10 includes a NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 use.
Choose this ELEGRP for a J1772 vehicle and a home with a suitable 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet, especially when adjustable higher current and cable reach matter. Its plug type sets a clear installation boundary.
Full product details
| Brand | ELEGRP |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 13.2 pounds |
| Item model number | ECP24-40A0-01 |
| Manufacturer | ELE Group Co., Ltd. |
| Part Number | ECP24-40A0-01 |
| Model | ECP24-40A0-01 |
| Dimensions | 144 x 134 x 47 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, J1772 Portable Electric Car Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 Plug, ETL Certified with 25FT Extension Cable
View on Amazon
#3 · Dual-Level Option
3. VDLPOWERVP 16A Charger
- Weight: 5.61 lb
Best for: Dual-voltage household flexibility.
Why it ranks #3: It includes a 20-foot cable, NEMA 6-20 plug, and NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 or Level 2 charging with J1772 vehicles.
A supplied NEMA 5-15 adapter lets the VDLPOWERVP EC10 move from its 240V NEMA 6-20 connection to a household Level 1 outlet. The 16A, 3.5kW charger and 20-foot cable offer J1772 drivers two charging options without requiring a single outlet type.
Using the NEMA 6-20 plug provides the listed 240V, 16A, up-to-3.5kW Level 2 option; the included NEMA 5-15 conversion adapter provides a Level 1 household connection, where the listing notes charging is slower at 110V. The 20-foot cable offers reach between the outlet and vehicle. Low-current charging is also presented as an option to reduce battery wear, giving owners a reason to choose a gentler session.
- NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter
- 16A current and up to 3.5kW output
- 20-foot cable
- Compatible with non-Tesla SAE J1772 vehicles
- The 20-foot cable is shorter than the 25-foot eTimxon T0-2P16A-A-X.X-M3-NACS cable.
Skip it if you need a 25-foot cable; the eTimxon T0-2P16A-A-X.X-M3-NACS lists 25 feet and a NEMA 5-15 adapter.
This VDLPOWERVP fits non-Tesla J1772 drivers who want both a 240V connection and household-outlet fallback. Expect slower charging on the 110V Level 1 option, and account for the 20-foot cable reach.
Full product details
| Brand | VDLPOWERVP |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 5.61 pounds |
| Item model number | SY-SC-AC1.0-16AS+SY-SP2-AC3.0-16AS |
| Manufacturer | Shenzhen Hanying New Energy Technology Co., Ltd. |
| Part Number | EC10 |
| Model | SY-SC-AC1.0-16AS+SY-SP2-AC3.0-16AS |
| Dimensions | 240 x 3.93 x 1.97 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 20FT Cable, 3.5KW 16Amp Home EV Car Charging Station, 110V-240V NEMA 6-20 & NEMA 5-15 Plug Adapter, for All SAE J1772
View on Amazon
#4 · Long-Reach Option
4. VEVOR 16A Charger
- Weight: 6.8 lb
Best for: LED-indicator dual-voltage charging.
Why it ranks #4: Its 25-foot cable, 16A rating, 120V–240V range, NEMA 6-20P plug, and NEMA 5-15 adapter cover common charging scenarios.
A 25-foot cable and LED indicator define VEVOR’s portable 16A Level 1&2 charger, while the NEMA 6-20P plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter offer two stated connection options. It targets SAE J1772 EV owners planning home charging across 120V and 240V supplies.
The NEMA 6-20P plug supports the listed 240V connection, while the NEMA 5-15 adapter provides a 120V household option, giving owners different outlet routes for home charging. A 25-foot cable offers reach between the connection and vehicle, which can help accommodate parking position. The LED indicator provides a visible status feature, and the stated 16A rating sets the current capacity. Compatibility is specified for SAE J1772 EVs.
- 25-foot charging cable
- NEMA 6-20P plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter
- LED indicator
- 16A rating and SAE J1772 compatibility
- Its 16A maximum is lower than the 32A listed for the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX.
Skip it if you need listed Wi-Fi app control with 32A output; the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX specifies both for a NEMA 14-50 Level 2 setup.
VEVOR suits SAE J1772 owners seeking a portable charger with a long cable, an LED indicator, and 120V/240V plug options. Its 16A rating is the relevant boundary for higher-current charging needs.
Full product details
| Brand | VEVOR |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 6.8 pounds |
| Item model number | EV-ACS1601U/K3 |
| Manufacturer | VEVOR |
| Part Number | Level 1&2 EV Charger, 16 Amp |
| Model | Level 1&2 EV Charger |
| Dimensions | 9.72 x 3.82 x 2.32 inches |

#5 · App-Controlled
5. Energbison WiFi Charger
- Weight: 7.61 lb
Best for: App-scheduled dual-voltage charging.
Why it ranks #5: The listing specifies Wi-Fi app control, 8–16A adjustment, a timer, 110V–240V operation, and a 25-foot J1772 cable.
App control brings adjustable 8–16A current and scheduling together on Energbison’s portable Level 1&2 charger. Its 25-foot cable and NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug options give J1772 EV and PHEV owners app-managed sessions across household and 240V connection types.
The mobile app lets owners set charging times and manage power output, while the 8–16A range provides several current choices. A 1–12-hour timer supports delayed starts for planned sessions. NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plugs cover the listed household and Level 2 connection options, and the 25-foot cable provides reach to the vehicle. The listing identifies J1772 EV and PHEV compatibility; household charging speed depends on the outlet’s power output.
- Wi-Fi-enabled app control and scheduling
- Adjustable 8–16A current
- NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug options
- 25-foot cable for J1772 EVs and PHEVs
- Its maximum current is 16A, below the 32A rating of the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX.
Skip it if you need 32A charging from a NEMA 14-50 outlet; the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX lists 32A and a NEMA 14-50P plug.
Energbison suits J1772 EV and PHEV owners who value app scheduling, selectable current, and two plug options. Its 16A ceiling and outlet-dependent household charging speed are relevant fit limits.
Full product details
| Brand | Energbison |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 7.61 pounds |
| Item model number | ACS1607U-APP |
| Manufacturer | SHENZHEN YONGCHUANGCHENG TECHNOLOGY CO., LIMITED |
| Part Number | EV-ACS |
| Model | ACS1607U-APP |
| Package Dimensions | 15.07 x 12.56 x 4.57 inches |
Why it ranks #6: Its adjustable 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A settings and 1–12-hour delay timer offer useful control for overnight charging.
Four current settings from 8A to 16A pair with a 1–12-hour delay timer on Raylix’s Level 1&2 J1772 charger. That combination lets owners select a charging current and schedule a later start, supporting overnight routines and planned charging windows.
The 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A settings give drivers choices across the charger’s stated current range, while the 1–12-hour delay timer can postpone a session to a chosen window. The listing identifies NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plugs, giving the charger household and 6-20 connection options. Its stated compatibility with J1772 EVs makes it relevant to owners using that connector standard; no cable length is supplied in the provided facts.
- Four current settings: 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A
- 1–12-hour delay timer
- NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug types listed
- J1772 EV compatibility
- Its maximum current is 16A, below the 32A listed for the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX.
Skip it if you need a listed 32A Level 2 charger with Wi-Fi app control; AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX lists both features.
Raylix suits J1772 owners who want selectable current and delayed starts across household and 6-20 plug options. The stated 16A ceiling is the key boundary for drivers seeking higher-current Level 2 charging.
Full product details
| Brand | Raylix |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 6.64 pounds |
| Item model number | RAYLIX J1772 portable ev charger |
| Manufacturer | Raylix |
| Package Dimensions | 16.38 x 13.43 x 3.9 inches |
| Additional Information | Important Information Proposition 65 Warning for California Consumers WARNING: This product can expose you to chemicals including butyl benzyl phthalate (BBP) which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov |
Listed on Amazon as: 2026 Upgraded Level 1&2 EV Charger for ALL J1772 EV, NEMA5-15/6-20Plug
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #7: This 16A, 3.5kW charger includes an LCD control box and a household-plug adapter, with listed 110V–240V compatibility.
The color LCD control box puts charging status and adjustments on the charger itself, while current and time-setting buttons let drivers tailor a session. Toptoo’s 16A, 3.5kW Level 1+2 unit includes a household-outlet adapter, giving J1772 drivers a portable option for different power connections.
The included 6-20P plug and US-standard household adapter provide two connection options, so the charger can serve a 240V setup or a Level 1 household outlet. Its 1.8-inch color LCD, current switch, and time-setting buttons put session controls on the control box rather than requiring a phone app. The 16A, 3.5kW rating identifies its charging capacity, while the universal five-hole US-standard charging-gun interface supports J1772 vehicles.
- 1.8-inch color LCD display on the control box
- Current switch and time-setting buttons
- Includes a household-outlet adapter for Level 1 use
- 16A, 3.5kW output with J1772 compatibility
- Its 16A maximum is below the 40A ELEGRP ECP24-40A0-01’s listed current capacity.
Skip it if you need higher current than 16A; the ELEGRP ECP24-40A0-01 supports up to 40A with a 240V NEMA 14-50 plug.
A J1772 driver wanting on-device controls and both household and 6-20P connection options may appreciate this Toptoo. Its 16A capacity and supplied plug types should suit the intended outlet and charging routine.
Full product details
| Brand | Toptoo |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles (J1772 standard) |
| Compatible Phone Models | J1772 |
| Compatible Power Plug Type | Type B – 3 pin (North American) |
| Included Components | Power plug, Cable, Control box, US standard plug adapter |
| Input Voltage | 110 volts |
| Manufacturer | Toptoo |
| Model Number | 16A -1.8 inch LCD Display |
| Wattage | 3.5 KW |
Listed on Amazon as: Level 1+2 Portable EV Charger for Electric Cars, 16A 3.5KW with 1.8 Inch LCD Display, 110V-240V, 6-20P Power Plug, J1772 Compatible, Applicable to Household Electricity
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #8: It lists 3.5kW output, 110V–240V input, a household-outlet adapter, water resistance, and a one-year warranty.
The included color LCD control box brings current and time-setting buttons to Toptoo’s 16A portable J1772 charger. With a 6-20P power plug, a household-outlet adapter, and a stated 3.5kW rating, it offers owners two outlet routes and on-unit session controls.
Toptoo supplies a 6-20P plug plus a US-standard adapter for Level 1 household outlets, so owners can connect through either of the listed plug options. The control box has a color LCD, current switch button, and time-setting buttons for setting and adjusting a session at the charger. Its 16A and 3,500-watt specifications describe the output class, while the five-hole US-standard charging-gun design is identified for J1772 use.
- Color LCD control box
- Current switch and time-setting buttons
- Includes 6-20P plug and household-outlet adapter
- 16A, 3,500-watt output for J1772 vehicles
- Its 16A maximum is lower than the 32A listed for the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX.
Skip it if you want listed Wi-Fi app control and 32A output; the AIMILER ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX specifies both for Level 2 charging.
This Toptoo works for J1772 drivers who want physical controls and a household-outlet adapter alongside a 6-20P plug. Its 16A capacity is the boundary to weigh against a higher-current charging need.
Full product details
| Brand | Toptoo |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | J1772 |
| Compatible Phone Models | J1772 |
| Enclosure Material | Plastic |
| Included Components | EV Charger 16A |
| Input Voltage | 120 volts |
| Manufacturer | Toptoo |
| Model | EV Charger 16A |
| Model Number | EV Charger 16A |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Special Feature | Water Resistant |
| Special Features | Water Resistant |
| Warranty Description | 1 Year |
| Wattage | 3500 watts |
Listed on Amazon as: 1+2 EV Charger Level Portable Electric Car Charger 6-20P 16A Power Plug 3.5KW 110V-240V for J1772 Electric Cars (Applicable to Household Electricity)
View on AmazonWhy it ranks #9: Its 32A, 240V configuration and 25-foot cable suit Level 2 use, but the listing provides less detail on outlet flexibility.
Wi-Fi app control combines with a listed 32A rating on the AIMILER Level 2 charger, letting owners manage a higher-current home charging setup through an app. Its 25-foot cable and NEMA 14-50P plug specify the reach and outlet connection for installation planning.
The NEMA 14-50P plug is intended for the charger’s stated 220–240V Level 2 operation, so the home needs a compatible receptacle. A 32A rating and the separately stated 7.6kW output identify its charging capacity, while the 25-foot cable can reach a vehicle parked away from the outlet. Wi-Fi app control adds a connected management option, and J1772 compatibility covers North American EVs and PHEVs listed for the charger.
- 32A, 7.6kW Level 2 charging
- Wi-Fi app control
- 25-foot cable
- NEMA 14-50P plug and J1772 connector
- The NEMA 14-50P plug limits use to locations with a compatible 220–240V receptacle.
Skip it if you need a household 120V outlet option; the Energbison ACS1607U-APP lists NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plugs for Level 1 and Level 2 use.
AIMILER fits J1772 EV and PHEV owners with a suitable 220–240V NEMA 14-50 receptacle who want app-managed Level 2 charging. The plug requirement is the main setup boundary to check.
Full product details
| Brand | AIMILER |
|---|---|
| Color | Black |
| Compatible Devices | Electric Vehicles (EVs) and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs) sold in North America |
| Input Voltage | 240 volts |
| Item Weight | 5 g |
| Manufacturer | AIMILER |
| Model Number | ZA05-U007KXX-XXXX |
| Output Voltage | 240 volts |
| Warranty Description | 3-year warranty |
Why it ranks #10: The title lists 8–16A charging and a 25-foot cord, but the supplied specifications do not state voltage, plug type, or additional features.
The 25-foot cord gives this Grasside Level 1&2 charger extra reach between a power connection and a parked vehicle. Its listed 8–16A range lets J1772 EV and PHEV owners choose among current settings, making it a simple portable option for home charging workflows.
Grasside lists an 8–16A current range and J1772 compatibility for EVs and plug-in hybrids, defining the basic charging fit without specifying output wattage or outlet types. The 25-foot cord can help reach a vehicle parked farther from the power source, reducing the need to reposition it when the connection point is fixed. The supplied listing gives a 7.41-pound item weight, a practical consideration when moving or storing the charger.
- 25-foot charging cord
- Adjustable 8–16A current range
- J1772 EV and PHEV compatibility
- Listed item weight is 7.41 pounds
- Its 16A maximum is lower than the ELEGRP ECP24-40A0-01’s listed 40A capacity.
Skip it if you need a stated 240V NEMA 14-50 connection or higher current; ELEGRP ECP24-40A0-01 lists both a 14-50 plug and up to 40A.
This Grasside is suited to J1772 EV or PHEV owners who value a 25-foot cord and adjustable current. The listing does not specify wattage or outlet-plug types, so those details may matter for your setup.
Full product details
| Brand | Grasside |
|---|---|
| Item Weight | 7.41 pounds |
| Item model number | ACP-J16-US-3025 |
| Manufacturer | Grasside |
| Package Dimensions | 16.22 x 12.71 x 4.84 inches |
Listed on Amazon as: 2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs
View on AmazonAvoid the outlet-and-adapter mismatch
The most common compatibility trap is choosing a charger by its vehicle connector while overlooking the wall-end plug. J1772 describes the vehicle-side connection, but these listings show different outlet requirements: the ELEGRP 40A Charger uses a NEMA 14-50 plug, while the eTimxon 16A Charger and VEVOR 16A Charger list a NEMA 6-20 plug plus a NEMA 5-15 adapter. A household adapter does not turn a standard 120V outlet into a 240V supply, so charging speed and supported current depend on the outlet and circuit.
Verify the receptacle and electrical supply where you intend to charge, then confirm the charger’s plug or included adapter matches. Also check the vehicle inlet: the listings generally target SAE J1772 vehicles, and eTimxon states that Tesla vehicles need an adapter.
Do not assume a plug adapter changes vehicle-connector compatibility or increases charging capacity.
Why advertised charging speed can mislead
A charger’s maximum output is only useful when the outlet and vehicle can support it. The ELEGRP 40A Charger lists up to 9.6kW at 240V, whereas the VDLPOWERVP 16A Charger lists up to 3.5kW and the eTimxon 16A Charger lists 3.84kW. These are not equivalent choices for every home: the higher-capacity unit has a NEMA 14-50 plug, while dual-level models offer household-outlet options but lower listed current.
A further failure mode is assuming that a current setting guarantees a particular vehicle charging rate; the supplied product data does not state each car’s onboard charging limit. Before deciding, compare the charger’s voltage and current with the outlet and consult the vehicle and electrical-system requirements.
If you only have a household outlet, prioritize compatible plug options rather than a headline Level 2 output.
How to Choose a Portable EV Charger
Voltage, current, and output
Choose a charger whose voltage and current fit your outlet and intended charging speed. The listings range from dual-voltage 110V–240V models, such as the Toptoo LCD Charger, to 240V-only higher-output options like the ELEGRP 40A Charger, listed at up to 9.6kW. Several 16A models state roughly 3.5–3.84kW, while the AIMILER 32A Charger is listed for 240V.
A household outlet setup favours a dual-level charger with the correct adapter, accepting lower output; a suitable 240V supply favours a higher-current option. Confirm the circuit and vehicle requirements before relying on a charger’s maximum rating.
Plug options and vehicle connector
Match both ends of the charging setup: the vehicle connector and the wall plug. Most products here specify J1772 compatibility, while their outlet plugs vary. The eTimxon 16A Charger lists a NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter; the ELEGRP 40A Charger uses a NEMA 14-50 plug.
The VDLPOWERVP 16A Charger also includes 6-20 and 5-15 options. Drivers with a matching 240V receptacle may prefer a dedicated 240V model; those needing household-outlet flexibility should favour a listing that explicitly includes an adapter.
Tesla owners should verify connector needs: eTimxon says Tesla vehicles require an adapter.
Cable reach and controls
Pick a cable length that reaches your parked vehicle without putting tension on the charging connector, and consider whether adjustable controls matter to your routine. Listed lengths include 20 feet for the VDLPOWERVP 16A Charger and 25 feet for the eTimxon 16A Charger, ELEGRP 40A Charger, and VEVOR 16A Charger. Control features vary: the Energbison WiFi Charger offers app control and a timer, while the Raylix J1772 Charger lists four current settings and a 1–12-hour delay.
A tight parking layout favours the longer listed cable; scheduled overnight charging may favour an app or timer. Check the full route from outlet to vehicle, not just the parking-space distance.
Which Portable EV Charger Should You Choose?
For a flexible J1772 setup across household and 240V outlets, choose the eTimxon 16A Charger: it pairs 110V–240V support with a 25-foot cable and two plug options. If you have a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet and want greater listed output, the ELEGRP 40A Charger offers up to 9.6kW and adjustable current. For a 20-foot reach with Level 1 and Level 2 options, consider the VDLPOWERVP 16A Charger.
The Energbison WiFi Charger is the fit for buyers who want app scheduling, while the Toptoo LCD Charger has a built-in display. Match the wall plug to your actual outlet and confirm your vehicle connector before ordering; these details determine whether a portable charger can serve your situation.
Related Buying Guides
- Best Car Chargers For Electric Cars
- Best Portable Battery Charger Car
- Best Rated Portable Car Battery Charger
- Best Portable Electric Winch
- Best Portable Marine Battery Charger
- Best Portable Car Battery Charger With Air Compressor
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I use a portable EV charger with any household outlet?
No. The charger must include a plug that matches your outlet, and the outlet and circuit must be suitable for that charger. Some listings include a NEMA 5-15 adapter for household outlets, while others require a different receptacle.
Check the charger instructions and your vehicle connector before use.
How do I know whether my EV needs a J1772-to-Tesla adapter?
Check the connector on your vehicle and compare it with the charger’s J1772 connector. The eTimxon listing says Tesla vehicles need an adapter; do not assume an adapter is included. Confirm the adapter type your vehicle requires and whether it is compatible before ordering.
What electrical circuit should I have before using a 240V portable EV charger?
Use a 240V outlet and circuit that match the charger’s plug and electrical requirements. For example, a NEMA 14-50 charger requires a suitable NEMA 14-50 receptacle; a NEMA 6-20 plug will not match it. Check the charger instructions and have an electrician verify the circuit if unsure.
How much cable reach should I look for?
Choose a cable long enough to reach from your outlet to the vehicle’s charging port without stretching or creating a trip hazard. These listings include cable lengths of 20 or 25 feet. Measure the route and account for where the vehicle will be parked before deciding.
What is the difference between a charger with WiFi and one with a display?
A WiFi model may offer app features such as scheduling or current adjustment, depending on its listing. A charger with an LCD or LED indicator provides information at the unit itself. Choose based on whether you want remote controls or on-device feedback, and verify the specific functions listed.
Final Words
For the broadest outlet flexibility among these picks, the eTimxon 16A charger stands out with 110V–240V operation, a 25-foot cable, and NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 options. Choose the ELEGRP instead if you have a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet and want its listed higher output. Before ordering, verify the vehicle connector, outlet type, circuit suitability, and cable reach; those checks matter more than headline features.







